| I am Yours, and You are Mine |

Lately life has been crazy… my family made a huge move a little over six months ago, but life feels as unsettled as ever.  I love living on the beach, but I have to admit I have been sitting in insecurity and worry.  Our house hasn’t sold ( but now thankfully it looks like it’s going in that direction), a relative is not doing well health-wise, school is CRAZY, and I’m having a hard time not having my best friends close.  Also, I’ve been really let down by some people recently, but I’m not even getting into the whole “unrealistic expectations of others” issue.

This weekend I had plans that fell through, which actually happened to be such a God-thing.  My sisters and I planned out such an epic girls weekend taking pictures, cooking and baking together, getting coffee, and talking about anything and everything.  I realized how lucky I am that Jesus would surround me with the BEST people.  My family is my tribe.  These girls have seen me at the worst and lowest points of my life, but they look at me as Christ does.  They let me vent and express my feelings, but also point me directly back to Him.  They are my people.

I’ve learned this weekend through the time spent with my sisters that I just need to get back to basics with God.  I know my identity is in HIM alone, I trust Him because He has PROVEN Himself trustworthy, I love without fear, because HE loved me first, I NEED to remain in this place in Him.  To flourish where I am planted, where He has brought me, so that I can serve Him and bring Him all the glory through my lifestyle and interactions with others.  The impact of my relationship with God grounds me in life and defeats the lies and feelings (which are never permanent anyway) of the enemy.  It doesn’t matter how many times I fall into those traps, whether it be through insecurity, jealousy, hurt, resentment, worldy outlets, because Jesus always picks me back up.  He teaches me and grows me through trials and I forever want to stay humble and authentic in this relationship.

He is strong in my weakness, He comforts me in sadness and loneliness, He proves Himself true to His promises in the midst of my stress and worries, He makes a way for me when I don’t see even a possibility.  He is and was and will be forever my Lord because I have SEEN Him in His works, in His Word, and through others.  I have HEARD Him fill my mind with truth when I’ve cried out to Him.  I have FELT His presence praising Him and yelling at Him. There is nothing I can do and nothing no one else can do to snatch me away or make Him love me less.  I am so thankful that my family is a constant reminder of Christ’s everlasting faithfulness whether we are laughing together, crying together, or praying together.  I’m thankful that I can have joy and peace and strength in Him.  I’m thankful that every day is a fresh start.  But most of all, I’m thankful that He pulled me out of myself over three years ago and made me His.

John 15:5-17 The Message

“I am the Vine, you are the branches. When you’re joined with me and I with you, the relation is intimate and organic, the harvest is sure to be abundant. Separated, you can’t produce a thing. Anyone who separates from me is deadwood, gathered up and thrown on the bonfire. But if you make yourselves at home with me and my words are at home in you, you can be sure that whatever you ask will be listened to and acted upon. This is how my Father shows who he is—when you produce grapes, when you mature as my disciples. I’ve loved you the way my Father has loved me. Make yourselves at home in my love. If you keep my commands, you’ll remain intimately at home in my love. That’s what I’ve done—kept my Father’s commands and made myself at home in his love. I’ve told you these things for a purpose: that my joy might be your joy, and your joy wholly mature. This is my command: Love one another the way I loved you. This is the very best way to love. Put your life on the line for your friends. You are my friends when you do the things I command you. I’m no longer calling you servants because servants don’t understand what their master is thinking and planning. No, I’ve named you friends because I’ve let you in on everything I’ve heard from the Father. You didn’t choose me, remember; I chose you, and put you in the world to bear fruit, fruit that won’t spoil. As fruit bearers, whatever you ask the Father in relation to me, he gives you. But remember the root command: Love one another.”

I am Yours, and You are Mine.
https://youtu.be/dy9nwe9_xzw

Leave a Reply

