| Be Still |

“Be still, and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10). This is everything.

I have been struggling hardcore with stress and anxiety lately, which is why that has been prevalent in my posts. Haha. I have a prayer journal where I write down things I’m asking God for, asking Him for direction about, praises of Him, or things I think He wants me to do, but I’m not sure about yet. Everyone should do this! It is amazing to see where God is working and watching prayers being answered.

But back to stress and anxiety… I have been praying for peace and joy and to be rid of this turmoil. January is when things started to get rough and I’ve been praying specifically since then; I have decisions I have to make, things I have to get done, and I put so much pressure on myself to get things done “my way” in my own timing.

Obviously that has only led to frustration. I was talking to my family about everything, and suddenly I had an answer. Nearly everyday when I talk to God about all the things going on in my life, He has told me to “Be still and rest in Him”. That made me more frustrated and confused, because how am I supposed to do the things He’s led me to do, if I am supposed to wait and not do those things?

I’ve realized that several of the issues I’m involved in or have been thinking of being involved in are not right for me at this time; God has made that pretty clear, I just have not wanted to actually make that decision, be assertive, and possibly deal with confrontation.

I kind of took a step back last night, looked at my priorities, and rearranged them to what they originally were. I think I got off track because of what other people were telling me to do, but also because I became more interested in doing particular things I could control.  

There are so many things swirling around right now that I am trying so hard to surrender to the Lord everyday and trust Him completely with. Now that I have mentally stepped back from several things, I feel such a relief. I know the most important things God wants me to do, and the rest I just have to trust it will all work out for my good and His glory! My life doesn’t have to look successful in the eyes of the world, I just want it to be full of love and bringing honor to my Savior.

I think I also have equated joy and peace with constantly being happy or not stressed. But these words actually are both states of being in response to God- He is my joy, peace, and strength. My everything. It makes sense that when I am letting everything around me overwhelm me, that I will not have those things. When I turn everything over to Him, His spirit fills me with the things I cannot bring about myself.

Today I know that I do not have to have all the answers or make certain decisions. I know I will, at least in my present circumstances, still encounter stress and anxiety. But it is what I do in these moments that can change how I react and feel. I’ve decided I will be still and rest in the presence of my Heavenly Father, trusting that He will provide for all my needs, guide me into right living, and restore my soul when I put my satisfaction and purpose in Him and not in this world or other people.  

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you” (1 Peter 5:7).

Leave a Reply

