| Perhaps this is the moment for which you have been created. |


Everyone wants to feel loved. Everyone wants to find purpose. Every situation I experience, I always wonder what the reason is… if it is to grow or stretch me, a lesson for me to learn, a way I can shine a light or invest in someone’s life.

I think that the verse I used as the blog title has been taken out of context by many people. Of course, in any situation, thinking that “my role” in it is why I was created, my life-long purpose, definitely satisfies that prideful part of me- I don’t like it. Haha

My purpose in life, the reason I was created, just like anyone else, is to love the Lord, love others, and make disciples. It’s not enough for my lifestyle to reflect my relationship with God, but it is so needed for followers of Christ to pour into those seeking Him, to teach about surrender, repentance, obedience, worship, and so on. Discipleship and walking alongside others is so important.

I’m putting below the section in Esther where the part of the verse I used is found.

Esther 4:13-14

“he sent back this answer: ‘Do not think that because you are in the king’s house you alone of all the Jews will escape. For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to your royal position for such a time as this?'”

Reading that in context is so convicting, especially in my life today. When I went through the David Platt Secret Church study ( I’ll recap the end of it soon ), I learned that God doesn’t need anyone to accomplish his purpose; he does, however, desire for the people he created to worship him and involve themselves in his work.

If I do not fulfill my role as a Jesus-follower, the gospel will still be shared and people will still be loved and discipled. It’s not dependent on what I say yes or no too. But this makes me want to serve and love on others and share about Christ, just because I have this one life and opportunity to do so.

One of my fave speakers that talks about this is Christine Caine. She says, “God wants to do a deep work in us before he can do a great work through us.” I think so many times everyone is longing for that big opportunity… everyone wants to have a name and be noticed. But if we want to see someone come to Christ, which is totally all the Holy Spirit anyway, then we have to be humble through the process of sanctification- becoming like Christ.

I believe we WERE all created “for such a time as this”, but this life is NOT dependent on our choice to “go forth and make disciples” or not. God looks at our hearts and motives and whether we serve him willingly or not, he will raise up those who will accomplish his purpose regardless. I know that I want to be apart of that.

Ephesians 5:1-20

Watch what God does, and then you do it, like children who learn proper behavior from their parents. Mostly what God does is love you. Keep company with him and learn a life of love. Observe how Christ loved us. His love was not cautious but extravagant. He didn’t love in order to get something from us but to give everything of himself to us. Love like that.
Don’t allow love to turn into lust, setting off a downhill slide into sexual promiscuity, filthy practices, or bullying greed. Though some tongues just love the taste of gossip, those who follow Jesus have better uses for language than that. Don’t talk dirty or silly. That kind of talk doesn’t fit our style. Thanksgiving is our dialect.
You can be sure that using people or religion or things just for what you can get out of them—the usual variations on idolatry—will get you nowhere, and certainly nowhere near the kingdom of Christ, the kingdom of God.
Don’t let yourselves get taken in by religious smooth talk. God gets furious with people who are full of religious sales talk but want nothing to do with him. Don’t even hang around people like that.
You groped your way through that murk once, but no longer. You’re out in the open now. The bright light of Christ makes your way plain. So no more stumbling around. Get on with it! The good, the right, the true—these are the actions appropriate for daylight hours. Figure out what will please Christ, and then do it.
Don’t waste your time on useless work, mere busywork, the barren pursuits of darkness. Expose these things for the sham they are. It’s a scandal when people waste their lives on things they must do in the darkness where no one will see. Rip the cover off those frauds and see how attractive they look in the light of Christ.
Wake up from your sleep,

Climb out of your coffins;

Christ will show you the light!

So watch your step. Use your head. Make the most of every chance you get. These are desperate times!
Don’t live carelessly, unthinkingly. Make sure you understand what the Master wants.
Don’t drink too much wine. That cheapens your life. Drink the Spirit of God, huge draughts of him. Sing hymns instead of drinking songs! Sing songs from your heart to Christ. Sing praises over everything, any excuse for a song to God the Father in the name of our Master, Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

