| Seeing God |


God is so good! There are so many things going on that I don’t even know where to start! Spring break is over and I’m drinking tons of coffee before I get started back with school, so hopefully I’m caffeinated enough and this makes sense.

This week and weekend were amazing; two of my best friends drove six hours to see me. We had a packed schedule and so much girl time!  I can’t believe how much we did and laughed and talked and ate in five days!  It was so awesome to just be present in the moment, making so many memories and exploring my new home. It’s so sad that it went by so fast and I won’t see them for 5-6 more months.

But it was literally such perfect timing, just what we each needed. There has been a lot of stuff going on with my family that I haven’t talked about much with other than the people I’m super close with. It’s so weird, but awesome, how God is working in a particular situation. My family and I prayed specific prayers and asked for discernment and peace and waited and waited and waited… Now the prayers are being answered in such a specific way that we know God is working in all of this!

I’ve had such a full heart, lately. While I’m kind of drained from stress and just tired, I am thankful and grateful. I am at peace right now, knowing that everything will work out. Certain situations in my life have been ugly, but persevering and persisting in something I know is right is worth it! My friends and I were also talking about that, and after looking back at past experiences, I definitely agree that the easy ways are not the best or most beneficial, usually.

There is so much more to life right now, but I’m not going to go any more in-depth. I just have realized this week that life is so up-and-down, can be gone in an instant… or other people can make choices that drastically affect others. I just really am learning to cherish life, the moments, the special people surrounding me. I don’t want to have an regrets about not spending time with the people I love because I’m caught up in “busyness”.

Life is good. God is good. Thankful for this morning of peace before the craziness starts back, because it will!

Psalm 34:8-9

 Open your mouth and taste, open your eyes and see—

how good God is.

Blessed are you who run to him.

Worship God if you want the best;

worship opens doors to all his goodness.

Romans 8:26-39

Meanwhile, the moment we get tired in the waiting, God’s Spirit is right alongside helping us along. If we don’t know how or what to pray, it doesn’t matter. He does our praying in and for us, making prayer out of our wordless sighs, our aching groans. He knows us far better than we know ourselves, knows our pregnant condition, and keeps us present before God. That’s why we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good.

God knew what he was doing from the very beginning. He decided from the outset to shape the lives of those who love him along the same lines as the life of his Son. The Son stands first in the line of humanity he restored. We see the original and intended shape of our lives there in him. After God made that decision of what his children should be like, he followed it up by calling people by name. After he called them by name, he set them on a solid basis with himself. And then, after getting them established, he stayed with them to the end, gloriously completing what he had begun.
So, what do you think? With God on our side like this, how can we lose? If God didn’t hesitate to put everything on the line for us, embracing our condition and exposing himself to the worst by sending his own Son, is there anything else he wouldn’t gladly and freely do for us? And who would dare tangle with God by messing with one of God’s chosen? Who would dare even to point a finger? The One who died for us—who was raised to life for us!—is in the presence of God at this very moment sticking up for us. Do you think anyone is going to be able to drive a wedge between us and Christ’s love for us? There is no way! Not trouble, not hard times, not hatred, not hunger, not homelessness, not bullying threats, not backstabbing, not even the worst sins listed in Scripture:
They kill us in cold blood because they hate you.

We’re sitting ducks; they pick us off one by one.

None of this fazes us because Jesus loves us. I’m absolutely convinced that nothing—nothing living or dead, angelic or demonic, today or tomorrow, high or low, thinkable or unthinkable—absolutely nothing can get between us and God’s love because of the way that Jesus our Master has embraced us.

Leave a Reply

