| rest |

I’m exhausted. Life has been so crazy and up-and-down for awhile, as I’ve said A LOT this year. I think that now that things are slowing down, it’s all catching up to me. Of course, certain things are still as chaotic as ever, but I can’t control or change those things… 

I feel drained in all areas: physically, emotionally, spiritually. I try so hard to encourage others, be there for others, and pour into others, but I feel like I need to be refilled. There are some people in my life that are so wrapped up in meaningless things that I honestly don’t have the patience right now to deal with it. 

I feel like my mindset has just changed recently. I’m not really concerned with worldly standards, I’m looking at eternity. I feel like that’s only natural seeing family members going through serious physical health and mental issues. It’s hard to not know the right thing for every situation.

But anyway, today God got my attention. The Bible study I just started over the weekend is on spiritual disciplines and growing near to Jesus. I have gotten so distracted and tired with family things and school and personal stuff that I just really have needed to have a structured time with God everyday. When my relationship with Him isn’t growing and a top priority, the rest of my life is so unbalanced.

The first verse for today in a series of Scriptures was from Matthew 11. He knew how much I needed this.

Matthew 11:28-30 

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the [unforced rhythms of grace]. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

Jesus promises us rest. He IS my rest. Rest for my physical body, but also rest for my soul. Learning from his everyday life, how he drew near to his father, is teaching me how to live a restful life in him. Christ daily lived in a way to maintain his close relationship with God. He took time away from his disciples and followers to pray, seek silence and solitude. He also fasted to be nearer to his father and took the Sabbath as a day of rest.  

These spiritual disciplines aren’t rules and regulations; they were created for our good and God’s glory. They help us live how Jesus lived, they help us create deep relationships with our Heavenly Father, they make a way for us to rest.

I know that the stuff that has gone on recently in my life will just take time for me to process through and deal with, to get used to. But I’m so thankful I can just “get away” and be with my Lord to re-charge and find my footing again. He is the solid ground on which I stand, he is my light, my rest, my strength, my song. He created a day of rest for man because he knows what this life is like… it is meaningless without him.

Psalm 62:1

God, the one and only—

    I’ll wait as long as he says.

Everything I need comes from him,

    so why not?

He’s solid rock under my feet,

    breathing room for my soul,

An impregnable castle:

    I’m set for life.

Leave a Reply

