| trust |


Well this week has been a little intense. My family moved my grandmom to Florida with us into assisted living on Monday. She was so excited to be with us and to enjoy life; her previous situation had not been healthy or good for her. In fact, we found out that she probably would have passed away if we had not brought her here.

God is just amazing. Following his guidance and timing proves his faithfulness over and over again.

We were thrilled to see her improve in some areas, but she has been constantly sick and had swelling in her legs. My mom had a bad feeling and she and my dad ended up taking her to the ER yesterday.

We found out she was in congestive heart failure and had a bad infection from before we brought her here. I am so thankful that she is being taken care of in the hospital and will hopefully recover and live a long and joyful life.

It is scary, though, because she had to be put in a medically-induced coma to rest and for the fluids to come off of her lungs, as well as be treated for the infection.

I am really upset at the people involved in her previous situation which caused all of this. But a verse stuck out to me yesterday…

Colossians 4:6

“Let your conversation be gracious and attractive so that you will have the right response for everyone.”

This is not the time for me to spew blame and be resentful. This is the time for me to draw near to God and my family and put my trust in him. Obviously God provided a way for my grandmom to be taken out of the harmful situation she was in, so I just am trying to be thankful for that.

Growing up I was extremely close to my grandmother and I am so excited for the opportunity to continue that relationship and pour into her like she did for me and my sisters.

It is so hard to see her like this, so scared, small, and fragile. 

But I’m trusting God for renewed strength, peace that surpasses all understanding, wisdom in this situation, and healing for my grandmom!

I’m meditating on Isaiah 41:10 today.

“Don’t panic. I’m with you.

    There’s no need to fear for I’m your God.

I’ll give you strength. I’ll help you.

    I’ll hold you steady, keep a firm grip on you.”

So thankful God has placed my family together to go through this with each other, to hold each other up, and I’m so thankful my grandmom is here and safe, getting the best treatment possible. 

Leave a Reply

