| grace |

In stressful situations people’s emotions are heightened. People say things they don’t mean and do things they normally probably wouldn’t.  

Grace isn’t an excuse for wrong behaviors. Grace doesn’t allow for harmful words or actions. Grace is a gift that surpasses these things we hate about ourselves to make us acceptable and lovable.

Grace: unmerited divine assistance given to humans for their regeneration or sanctification.

http://ifequip.com/node/2826

Above is a link for a recap of the Bible study I’ve been doing this week. The two themes have been sabbath (resting in Christ) and fasting.

So many times I have abused the privilege of grace by allowing myself to turn to other things or people instead of God… which leaves me more stressed and empty.

I know Jesus gives me real grace for this, but I want to grow into a deeper relationship with him instead of putting “fillers” between us. Even the most innocent things can put distance in the relationship when I have an unhealthy motivation behind them.

Fasting and planning a day of resting in Jesus are not supposed to be legalistic- they aren’t to be done in front of others pridefully, but to be utilized as led by God to grow ourselves and our relationships with God.

Resting leads to joy, fasting leads to realizing a deep need for Christ and both allow me to be gracious toward others because they make me understand a little bit of the grace I have been given.

Just something to think about. Happy Friday!

1 Corinthians 15:10-11
But because God was so gracious, so very generous, here I am. And I’m not about to let his grace go to waste. Haven’t I worked hard trying to do more than any of the others? Even then, my work didn’t amount to all that much. It was God giving me the work to do, God giving me the energy to do it. So whether you heard it from me or from those others, it’s all the same: We spoke God’s truth and you entrusted your lives.

Leave a Reply

