| A Time for Everything |

Lately, I’ve been experiencing lots of life-changes and seeing them in others all around me. I’ve been seeing things end and new things begin. It is comforting to see that even the worst situations will collapse at some point and life will move on.

Sometimes in the midst of stress and worry and fear, it’s hard to see things clearly. A couple of weeks ago, even last week, I was viewing my life one way… looking at everything I’ve lost this/last year. But this week I have really pushed myself to look at everything I’ve gained, what God has given me this year.

I’m so thankful. It’s always hard to go through the “endings” or a series of loss, whether it’s friends, a relationship, a church, a job, whatever… But its completely normal to be sad for awhile, grieve it, let it go. I think that’s the only way to be led into new things. To be content. To take it a step further and live a life of gratitude.

I don’t know what tomorrow will bring, so I want to make the most of the time I have. My pastor from Atlanta used to talk about how it’s not so much what you do, but how you do it. God has changed so much in my life and given me so much more than I thought possible. I just see this world as more than temporary sometimes, which it’s not. This world is fleeting and sometimes “endings” are good. If a season of loss or broken friendships grows and deepens my relationship with God, then yeah I may be sad, but also so grateful for my dependence and security in Him.

This is a hopeful reminder to me of how life goes on… I needed that and maybe someone else will too.   

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

There’s an opportune time to do things, a right time for everything on the earth: 
A right time for birth and another for death,

A right time to plant and another to reap,

A right time to kill and another to heal,

A right time to destroy and another to construct,

A right time to cry and another to laugh,

A right time to lament and another to cheer,

A right time to make love and another to abstain,

A right time to embrace and another to part,

A right time to search and another to count your losses,

A right time to hold on and another to let go,

A right time to rip out and another to mend,

A right time to shut up and another to speak up,

A right time to love and another to hate,

A right time to wage war and another to make peace.

Leave a Reply

