| trying again |

I want to recap the wonderful Memorial Day weekend with my favorite people soon, but today I’m going to talk about something else!

Last year around Christmas I tried to quit smoking. I lasted two weeks and that was it. I knew it would be hard, but I couldn’t handle it then. It was interesting talking to one of my friends about it because she pointed out to me how it was my “last thing”.

I have over 3 1/2 years from my heroin/drug addiction and I also quit drinking. Smoking cigarettes is the one thing that I used to get through not only being clean and sober, but also for dealing with anxiety, stress, depression, being bored… so many things.

I tried to quit last year because I put an expectation from others onto myself- even though it wasn’t necessarily true. I knew I needed to quit because it’s been so long since I started, but I didn’t want to.

Well, now I’m in a place where I’m just over it… I’m over having to rely on something that has such a hold on me. So many studies have shown how quitting smoking is like quitting opiates, so of course it’s going to be hard especially since cigs helped me quit the other stuff.

It’s definitely a weird thing. I am on day two, so hopefully it’ll get better soon. Having headaches, feeling out of it, feeling nauseous… definitely not fun. But I also have coffee, bubble gum, the people that I love, and Jesus to get me through it.

I think it’s all about your mindset with quitting things or beginning things. I had to get to a point where I was ready and now, even though it’s hard, I’m not resentful about it.  

If anyone has any tips or is also quitting smoking or anything else, let me know and we can support each other.

Pray for me!  Haha

Leave a Reply

