| Random thoughts on a Monday |

I heard about some crazy God-things that have happened recently that have blown my mind! I have also heard some awful things going on in people’s lives that I haven’t known how to really respond to. It’s not hard at all to praise God when He’s clearly moving and doing amazing things! It is, however, difficult to explain to people that life is not always as clear and awesome and exciting as that. Our goal isn’t to be happy and stress-free.

Yesterday at church, I heard so many things I needed to hear… that really put my focus back where it should be. It doesn’t matter that I don’t have all the answers, it matters how I respond to others.

Being in a relationship with God, trying to live like Christ, means dying to myself and my own desires every day. Not being tied down by earthly possessions and things that will fade in eternity. I think this really hits me hard when I think about the Christians all over the world still literally dying, being tortured for their relationships with God!

It really inspires me to speak truth openly. To love more. To pray that we can all come together and do great things for the glory of God! To not waste my life and the opportunity I have! To not get caught up in the little things…

The biggest challenge I have though, is sort of what I mentioned at the beginning of this post. When I hear about awful things, people doing awful things, how do I speak truth without being hypocritical. How do I encourage right living when I have made so many mistakes myself… I think the answer is to do everything out of love.

When I began my relationship with God, and even now, my family and others have encouraged me and guided me along when I needed help. No one is perfect, but seeing people that love me pouring into me selflessly, spending time with me, keeping me accountable and pointing me to back to Jesus, has made the biggest impact.

That’s the whole point of the church, the body of Christ. Everyone was designed to work together, to fulfill different things, to glorify God by coming together and living lives full of truth and love.

There is power in praying together and for each other! “When we are united, we are unstoppable!” In order for people to believe, the church needs to be unified and love others how Christ loved us, at our darkest!

Romans 15:5-7

May God, who gives this patience and encouragement, help you live in complete harmony with each other, as is fitting for followers of Christ Jesus. Then all of you can join together with one voice, giving praise and glory to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, accept each other just as Christ has accepted you so that God will be given glory. 

John 17:20-23

I am praying not only for these disciples but also for all who will ever believe in me through their message. I pray that they will all be one, just as you and I are one—as you are in me, Father, and I am in you. And may they be in us so that the world will believe you sent me.
I have given them the glory you gave me, so they may be one as we are one. I am in them and you are in me. May they experience such perfect unity that the world will know that you sent me and that you love them as much as you love me.

Just my thoughts … kind of rambly. Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

