| The Best Yes |

 I just finished reading “The Best Yes” by Lysa Terkeurst and whoa. So good. Literally this book has changed the way I think in a major way. I want to make the best decisions I can instead of making decisions that others want me to make, say no to decisions that aren’t the best, and understand expectations and potential disappointment from people around me when I make these choices.  

I would recommend every women read this. The core of this book is about making the best decisions rather than making any decision that sounds good… there are many questions and things to consider when making choices and Lysa lays it all out there. I have to consider my schedule, my family, my energy, my relationship with God… everything plays into why certain decisions are “the best” and why others are not. She also reminds us that there is grace for every wrong choice- there may be consequences, but we need to work through it and move on instead of sitting in that downward cycle.

At the end of the book she has a lot of quotes about things she doesn’t want the reader to forget, so I’ll list the ones that stuck out to me while I was reading it! Everyone go get this book!!

“The decisions you make determine the schedule you keep. The schedule you keep determines the life you live. And how you live your life determines how you spend your soul.”

“We must understand all five parts of decision making:

1. Trusting in God by placing my desire under his authority.

2. Analyzing the decision.

3. Making the decision.

4. Owning the decision.

5. Trusting God to work good even from the not-so-good parts.”

“My imperfections will never override God’s promises. God’s promises are not dependent on my ability to always choose well, but rather on his ability to use well.”

Leave a Reply

